The 2016–2017 Ildiko Butler Travel Award Recipients

The 2017 Ildiko Butler Travel Award Recipients 
Photographs by: Jason Boit, Phillip Gregor, Sam Robbins, Yun Ting Lin
(click for images)

Curators: Stephan Apicella-Hitchcock & Joseph Lawton
Exhibition Dates: July 2017—May 2018

The Hayden Hartnett Project Space
Fordham University at Lincoln Center MAP
113 West 60th Street at Columbus Avenue
Office of Undergraduate Admission, Lowenstein, RM 203
New York, NY 10023
The galleries are open from 9am to 9pm every day except on university holidays

Fordham University’s Department of Theatre & Visual Art is proud to present an exhibition of the 2016—2017 Ildiko Butler Travel Award Recipients: Jason Boit, Phillip Gregor, Sam Robbins, and Yun Ting Lin. This highly competitive grant is offered to sophomore and junior Visual Arts Majors for independent research. Up to four Ildiko Butler Travel Awards are given annually for exceptional work in the medium of photography.

The grant has enabled students to travel the world from Rome to Havana, Berlin to Budapest, and even from Moscow to Beijing on the Trans-Mongolian Railway. In each and every case the travel opportunity afforded by the award has been educational and transformative for the students. The photographs generated while traveling often become the core of a student’s senior thesis exhibition. In addition, a selection of work from each year’s recipients is included in a year-long exhibition in the Hayden Hartnett Project Space. This year our recipients traveled across India (Boit), Italy (Gregor), America (Robbins), and Taiwan (Lin).

About the Hayden Hartnett Project Space: this space presents yearlong exhibitions of photographic work produced by students in the Department of Theatre and Visual Art. Located in the Office of Undergraduate Admission at Fordham’s Lincoln Center campus, the Hayden Hartnett Project Space introduces prospective students and their parents to the high caliber of visual work produced at Fordham University.

The Hayden Hartnett Project Space is inside the Office of Undergraduate Admission on the second floor of the Leon Lowenstein building, RM 203.